Read all the things!

Still pondering yesterday. The upcoming month is going to be marked with ridiculous amounts of information consumption for me as I prepare for various projects and PD’s. I read the K, Counting and Cardinality; K-5, Operations and Algebraic Thinking progression earlier this week and if you would like to learn more about the complexity of teaching kiddos to add/subtract I highly recommend checking it out. It’s not short, but there are some charts on pages 7 and 9 that are worth checking out along with some of the visual models like the number bonds and part-part-whole diagrams on page 16. I’ve been fortunate enough to be involved in some IM work with elementary teachers that’s exposing me to a lot of the language and tools used in an age group that I am in no way shape or form qualified to teach.

Today I started reading the National Center on Education and the Economy’s report What Does It Really Mean to Be College and Work Ready? I’m still in the introduction, but here’s a nice snippet for you to chew on:

In the face of these findings, the policy of requiring a passing score on an Algebra II exam for high school graduation simply cannot be justified. (p.3)

They also discuss how critical MS mathematics is and that more time should be spent on those topics and not on shoving Algebra 1 down into the middle grades. I like these people already. We’ll see if I still like them when I’m done with this.

The sheer amount of professional documents that are out there that have direct implications on what is taught and on how things are taught is staggering. I truly hope that every district out there has someone in each division whose job is to read these sorts of things and consider best actions and how to disseminate the information to the teachers they work with. I know this isn’t true, but education cannot afford to be disconnected from research.

Have a favorite research article you’ve read this year related to Math Ed? Put it in the comments! Thanks 🙂

2 thoughts on “Read all the things!

Leave a Reply

